Harajuku, Meiji Jingu, Shibuya, and Asakusa

Many people ride bicycles in Tokyo instead of driving cars. I love it; it makes the city cleaner than most and they look so cute being all dressed up on bikes (people dress way fancier in Tokyo than in the USA). But what I love even more is that at least half of the bikes on the street are not locked up. Apparently there is a mutual trust among the Japanese…an idea that is so foreign in the States!

Here is the best of what I’ve seen so far!

Harajuku
(The photos in my previous post came from stores in Harajuku!)

image

image

image

image

^^ there were crepe stores everywhere!

Meiji Shrine

image

image

^ “Barrels of Sake Wrapped in Straw”…this was on the way to the shrine.

image

image

image

image

image

It was beautiful to see so many languages and people’s wishes from all over the world!

Below, I am cleansing my hands as directed: right hand, then left hand, then mouth, then handle of cup. I skipped the rinsing my mouth part…don’t tell on me! Also I don’t think I was supposed to be laughing…
image

image

image

image

Shibuya

The famous Shibuya crossing! Japanese people seem to never cross outside of a crosswalk, and never until the green man is lit up. So even with an ocean of people crossing the street here, it is very organized!

image

image

image

image

image

image

Below is the statue of Hachiko. It’s a very popular meeting point in Shibuya.

image

image

Jenny took me to the coolest sushi place! You order on a touch-screen, and your food slides out to you.

image

image

image

image

image

Asakusa

image

image

image

image

image

image

Buddhist temple!

image

image

image

Peoples’ good fortunes tied here:
image

image

Hand and mouth cleansing station:

image

Inside the temple:

image

image

image

image

I think people were burning bad fortunes here:

image

image

image

After the market and shrine, Jenny’s mom picked out this Udon restaurant where the chefs make the noodles from scratch. It was delicious!

image

We saw a bunch of these guys on the streets in Asakusa:

image
image

^ the Tokyo Sky Tree from afar

We stopped at a different market on our way home and got chocolate covered strawberries and banana 🙂
image

image

Leave a comment