Penang

I’m in love with the street art in Penang. Even some of the street signs and store/accommodation signs are made of metal art which looks like it’s painted on the walls from afar.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Penang is more of what I pictured when I imagined coming to Malaysia – the previous 2 cities seemed very western. The view from my window was of houses and a mosque and I found it beautiful.

image

We walked around the city (when I took pictures of all the street art) and to a Chinese Buddhist temple. Our Thai guide explained to us the differences between Chinese and Thai Buddhism. One difference is that Chinese Buddhists believe in many gods while Thai believe in 1 god. Also, if I remember correctly, he said Chinese believe in reincarnation while Thai believe in different levels of heaven and hell, depending on your sins and how much good you do in the world.

image

image

image

image

image

image

At dinner we went to an outdoor food court. I have fresh juice at every meal because I have never tasted juice so delicious!! There was a “Marryland” dish at one restaurant :p

image

On our free day, a small group of us (me and the UK people – Sonia my roommate, a woman with children my age, and a man in his 70s) did a hop on hop off bus tour. We saw Chinese and Buddhist temples, beaches, took a short hike in the Penang National Park, and enjoyed the beauty of the island.

Thai:

image

image

Reclining Buddha…!
image

image

There were so many Buddhas in this temple! One for each year (I am year of the goat) and for each day of the week.
image

Chinese:

image

image

image

^That’s where I am!!

Shamrock Beach:
image

image

image

image

image

Sitting in paradise during lunch:
image

National Park:
image

image

Walking to the bus stop:
image

image

It was a lovely day even though I’ve never felt so close to the equator. Seriously it is so hot.

Leave a comment