Germany or Japan?

Wow! What was once a simple solo lunch plan turned into an afternoon event for me today.

There is a surprisingly high number of Japanese immigrants living in Dusseldorf. That means there must be a high number of delicious Japanese restaurants. After stumbling upon a conversation online between expats who were discussing their Japanese restaurant recommendations, it really got me in the mood. So, I found a highly rated restaurant, translated the menu to English online, and picked out what I wanted in advance.

I went on my merry way early this afternoon to the tram stop that Google advised me to go to. When I got there, I saw that the tram number that Google told me to take doesn’t even stop at this stop in the direction I needed…it only stops going the opposite direction (which wouldn’t help at all). This is the first time that Google had failed me in my navigation around here 😦 But luckily there are the metros, trams, AND buses that are all a part of the convenient public transportation. Basically, no matter what, I am always close to multiple stops of some sort. So I went to the next best choice, a bus stop a few blocks away. I had just missed the bus when I got there, and when I read the timetable I saw that it won’t come again for another hour! Note to self to not randomly rely on getting a bus. But that’s okay because trams and metros run frequently. So I backtracked all the way past the tram stop I tried and down to a metro stop. That’s the boring part of the story, but I got there.

I passed many Japanese restaurants (I think this must be the most densely populated area of Japanese people) and eventually I made it to the restaurant, Na Ni Wa. I was already borderline starving when I had left my apartment, so you can imagine my pain when I saw a line halfway down the block outside just to get inside the restaurant. But there was no turning back now – no restaurant will have an English menu and I already translated this one. I’m not brave enough yet to rely on my German to pick something from a menu. I figured this food must be amazing so it would have to be worth it.

While waiting in line, I was trying to figure out in my head if I could communicate in German that I wanted to order for carry-out. I could say something like “Can I to bring my food out?” I couldn’t remember how to say outside and I don’t know how to say two verbs consecutively like can and bring. Also THAT MAKES NO SENSE in English, let alone German, I’m sure. But if people are waiting this long for a table with their friends, and I end up getting a table for 1 that could sit 4 people, I’d feel terrible.

The staff members were very efficient as we waited in line. We were given menus and then placed our orders while still outside. When I told the man it’s just me in my “party,” it didn’t seem to bother him so I thought, whatever. I did see one man at a table by himself that could sit 3 people, so at least I wouldn’t be the only person in the history of Na Ni Wa to do this. Luckily, after 30 minutes of waiting in line, I got a stool at a bar sort of thing, facing a window where I could watch the chefs cook.

About halfway through my meal, a girl who looked about my age sat next to me. I peeked at her order ticket and indeed, she was also a party of 1. I was curious about her because it’s simply not common to go to a restaurant and eat there if you have people to go with. I thought maybe she’s an expat too. After a while I built up the courage to try to ask her in German if she knows if the long line is normal. She didn’t understand what I said LOL so I tried in English, and she understood perfectly. She said yes it is normal, sometimes the line is even longer and it takes a whole hour to wait. It turns out she’s native to Germany but spent a year in the USA for a high school exchange thing. It also turns out that she’s in 11TH GRADE. HAHA I made friends with a high schooler. Wow.

Well, the food was great and it was worth it. The end.

One thought on “Germany or Japan?

Leave a comment