This is an excerpt from my journal entry I wrote on the plane from Düsseldorf to the USA…

Yesterday was the last day of school. My second last day of a school as a teacher, though I can say I’ve had three. I cannot believe I am where I am – starting this school year, I had every intention of still working at my previous school until yesterday, at least. It’s crazy how quickly things can change.

Earlier this week, my German teacher asked what my “Wunsch” (wish) is for my career. My honest answer was that I’m already living it.

Graduation last night was a beautiful reminder of how lucky I am. The students really seem to love their school and appreciate the dedication of their teachers. Teachers are happy (okay teachers have complaints but still). After the inspiring and emotional ceremony, students, teachers, and parents gathered in the commons room to have champagne and finger-food. It’s such a nice atmosphere when people of all ages have a mutual respect and can hang out together 🙂

I overheard two of my grade 11 girls say “aw look, the math teachers are hanging out together!” I am so incredibly thankful that us math teachers like hanging out together! I feel much closer to them with only 6 months than I did with the department at my previous school (not because of the teachers per se, but just such a lack of time spent together during the days). It was really sad to say goodbye to the two engaged math teachers who are moving to the USA, but I’m thankful that I didn’t wait until the next school year to try to get a job here because I never would have met them.

Leave a comment